United Kingdom

Country code: GB


NFP: Home Office

2006 - 31 January 2020

The UK has withdrawn from the European Union (EU) on 31 January 2020 and is no longer a Member State of the EU.

The main migration policy instruments in the United Kingdom:

Non-exhaustive list of key policy documents in the area of migration:

The main ministries in charge of migration affairs:

  • Home Office: Together with its subordinate authorities it is the main body in charge of migration affairs, including immigration (entry, stay); asylum; integration; migration data; border management and irregular migration; return and repatriation.
  • Ministry of Justice: immigration and asylum tribunals; visa and asylum appeals.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: visa and consular affairs.
  • Department for International Development: development cooperation on migration.



Last update: December 2018

Located in: Countries