Population: 1 170 125
NFP: Ministry of the Interior
Involvement: Since 2006
The main key policy instruments relating to migration are:
  • The law on the right of Union citizens and members of their families to move and reside freely within the territory of the Republic
  • The Aliens and Immigration Act 
  • The law on preventing and combating trafficking in and exploitation of human beings and protection of victims
  • Regulations on foreign nationals and immigration
  • Adoption of the Valletta Common Action Plan (JVAP) in 2015
The legislative framework for migration issues is regulated by the Ministry of the Interior. 
The Ministry of Interior is the coordinator of the National Contact Point of the European Migration Network (EMN) in Cyprus. 
This National Contact Point is made up of the Asylum Service and the Department of Civil Status and Migration of the Ministry of the Interior, and the Aliens and Immigration Unit of the Cyprus Police Department.