Population: 185 989 640
NFP: Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Involvement: Since 2006

The main migration policy instruments:

Non-exhaustive list of key policy documents in the area of migration:

  • 1960/1967: ratification of the 1951 Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees and its 1967 Protocol.
  • 1979: the ECOWAS Protocols relating to the Free Movement of Persons, the Right of Residence and Establishment (1979, 1985, 1986, 1989, 1990).
  • 1986: ratification of the 1969 AU Convention Governing Specific Aspects of Refugee Problems in Africa.
  • 2001: ratification of the 2000 Protocols on Trafficking in Persons and Smuggling of Migrants.
  • 2003: Trafficking in Persons (Prohibition) Law, Enforcement and Administration Act of 14 July 2003.
  • 2009: ratification of the 1990 Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of their Families.
  • 2014: adoption of the National Labour Migration Policy
  • 2015: adoption of the National Policy on Migration.
  • 2017: adoption of the Migration Regulations implementing the Immigration Act of 2015 (Act No. 8 of 2015).


The main ministries in charge of migration affairs:

  • Ministry of Interior: in charge of the entry, stay and removal of foreigners; Delivery of work authorisations.
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs: provides assistance to nationals abroad.
  • Ministry of Justice: Fight against trafficking (National Agency for the Prohibition of Trafficking in Persons - NAPTIP).
  • Secretary to the Government of the Federation: National Commission for Refugees, Migrants and Internally Displaced Persons (NCFRMI) - entrusted with coordination functions, as well as playing a leading role in the implementation of the draft National Migration Policy.



Last update: September 2018