Population: 7 396 190
NFP: Ministry of Internal Affairs
Involvement: Since 2006

The main migration policy instruments:

Non-exhaustive list of key policy documents in the area of migration:

  • 1965: Non-Citizens (Registration, Immigration and Expulsion) Act.
  • 1979: the ECOWAS Protocols relating to the Free Movement of Persons, the Right of Residence and Establishment (1979, 1985, 1986, 1989, 1990).
  • 1981: ratification of the 1951 Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees and its 1967 Protocol.
  • 1987: ratification of the 1969 AU Convention Governing Specific Aspects of Refugee Problems in Africa.
  • 2005: Anti-Human Trafficking Act.
  • 2014: ratification of the 2000 Protocols on Trafficking in Persons and Smuggling of Migrants.
  • 2017: National Migration Policy
  • 2018: National Labour Migration Policy


The main ministries in charge of migration affairs:

  • Ministry of Internal Affairs: in charge of immigration management; was leading the elaborating the National Migration Policy.
  • Ministry of Labour and Social Security: was leading the elaborating the National Labour Migration Policy.
  • Ministry of Social Welfare, Gender and Children's Affairs: fight against trafficking in persons.
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation: in charge of the protection of nationals abroad.


Last update: September 2018