Population: 2 038 501
NFP: Embassy of the Republic of the Gambia and the Mission of the Republic of the Gambia to the European Union
Involvement: Since 2006

The main migration policy instruments:

Non-exhaustive list of key policy documents relating to migration:

  • 1966/1967: ratification of the 1951 Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees and its 1967 Protocol.
  • 1979: the ECOWAS Protocols relating to the Free Movement of Persons, the Right of Residence and Establishment (1979, 1985, 1986, 1989, 1990).
  • 1980: ratification of the 1969 AU Convention Governing Specific Aspects of Refugee Problems in Africa.
  • 2003: ratification of the 2000 Protocols on Trafficking in Persons and Smuggling of Migrants.
  • 2007: Immigration Act.
  • 2007: Trafficking in Persons Act.
  • 2017: National Migration Policy.
  • 2018: ratification of the 1990 Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of their Families.


The main ministries in charge of migration affairs:

  • Ministry of Interior: in charge of immigration and emigration; entry clearance and visas; passport issuance; the Professional Standards Unit (established in 2008 as a means for Gambians and non-Gambians to lodge complaints when their rights have been violated by an immigration officer) and developed the National Migration Policy.
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs, International Cooperation and Gambians Abroad: in charge of consular assistance; bilateral, regional and international agreements on migration; identification and repatriation of Gambians living abroad; an Ad hoc division in charge of involving Gambian communities abroad in national development strategies.


Last update: September 2018