Select your language

Population: 1 815 698
NFP: Ministry of Foreign Affairs, International Cooperation and Communities
Involvement: Since 2006

The main migration policy instruments in Guinea-Bissau:

Non-exhaustive list of key policy documents in the area of migration:

  • 1976: Ratification of the 1951 Convention relating to the Status of Refugees and its 1967 Protocol.
  • 1979: ECOWAS Protocols on the Free Movement of Persons, Right of Residence and Establishment (1979, 1985, 1986, 1989, 1990)
  • 1989: Ratification of the 1969 AU Convention Governing the Specific Aspects of Refugee Problems in Africa.
  • 2007: Ratification of the 2000 Trafficking in Persons Protocol.
  • 2010: Act No. 6/2010 amending Act No. 2/1992 on nationality followed by the consolidated version of the Act.
  • 2011: Law to Prevent and Combat Trafficking in Persons, Especially Women and Children.

The main ministries in charge of migration affairs: 

  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs, International Cooperation and Communities: in charge of the State's relations with the diaspora; protection of national nationals abroad.
  • Ministry of Internal Administration: in charge of immigration management; border management
  • Ministry of Economy and Regional Integration: Coordination of the National Platform on Migration and Migration Policies.


Last updated: September 2018

Cookies user preferences
We use cookies to ensure you to get the best experience on our website. If you decline the use of cookies, this website may not function as expected.
Accept all
Decline all
Read more
Tools used to analyze the data to measure the effectiveness of a website and to understand how it works.
Google Analytics