Select your language

Population: 7 396 190
NFP: Ministry of Internal Affairs
Involvement: Since 2006

The main migration policy instruments:

Non-exhaustive list of key policy documents in the area of migration:

  • 1965: Non-Citizens (Registration, Immigration and Expulsion) Act.
  • 1979: the ECOWAS Protocols relating to the Free Movement of Persons, the Right of Residence and Establishment (1979, 1985, 1986, 1989, 1990).
  • 1981: ratification of the 1951 Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees and its 1967 Protocol.
  • 1987: ratification of the 1969 AU Convention Governing Specific Aspects of Refugee Problems in Africa.
  • 2005: Anti-Human Trafficking Act.
  • 2014: ratification of the 2000 Protocols on Trafficking in Persons and Smuggling of Migrants.
  • 2017: National Migration Policy
  • 2018: National Labour Migration Policy


The main ministries in charge of migration affairs:

  • Ministry of Internal Affairs: in charge of immigration management; was leading the elaborating the National Migration Policy.
  • Ministry of Labour and Social Security: was leading the elaborating the National Labour Migration Policy.
  • Ministry of Social Welfare, Gender and Children's Affairs: fight against trafficking in persons.
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation: in charge of the protection of nationals abroad.


Last update: September 2018

Cookies user preferences
We use cookies to ensure you to get the best experience on our website. If you decline the use of cookies, this website may not function as expected.
Accept all
Decline all
Read more
Tools used to analyze the data to measure the effectiveness of a website and to understand how it works.
Google Analytics