Select your language

Population: 15 411 614
NFP: Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Senegalese Abroad
Involvement: Since 2006

The main migration policy instruments in Senegal:

Non-exhaustive list of key policy documents in the area of migration:

  • 1963/1967: Ratification of the 1951 Convention relating to the Status of Refugees and its 1967 Protocol.
  • 1971: Ratification of the 1969 AU Convention Governing the Specific Aspects of Refugee Problems in Africa.
  • 1971: Law No. 71-10 of 25 January 1971 on the conditions of admission, residence and establishment of foreigners.
  • 1979: ECOWAS Protocols on the Free Movement of Persons, Right of Residence and Establishment (1979, 1985, 1986, 1989, 1990)
  • 1999: Ratification of the 1990 International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families.
  • 2003: Ratification of the Trafficking in Persons Protocol and the 2000 Protocol against the Smuggling of Migrants.
  • 2005: Law No. 2005-06 of 10 May 2005 on combating trafficking in persons and related practices and protecting victims.
  • 2018: Adoption of the National Migration Policy on 28 March 2018.

The main ministries in charge of migration affairs

  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Senegalese Abroad: in charge of relations with Senegalese migrants, assistance abroad and their return home; and promotion of diaspora investments.
  • Ministry of the Interior: Immigration Management.
  • Ministry of Economy, Finance and Planning: in charge of in-depth studies and research on migration issues; was in charge of formulating national migration policy.


Last updated: September 2018

Cookies user preferences
We use cookies to ensure you to get the best experience on our website. If you decline the use of cookies, this website may not function as expected.
Accept all
Decline all
Read more
Tools used to analyze the data to measure the effectiveness of a website and to understand how it works.
Google Analytics