Select your language

Population: 23 439 189
NFP: Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Involvement: Since 2006

The main migration policy instruments in Cameroon:

Non-exhaustive list of key policy documents in the area of migration:

  • 1961/1967: Ratification of the 1951 Convention relating to the Status of Refugees and its 1967 Protocol.
  • 1985: Ratification of the 1969 AU Convention Governing the Specific Aspects of Refugee Problems in Africa.
  • 1997: Law n°97/012 of 10 January 1997 on the conditions of entry, residence and exit of foreigners.
  • 2006: Ratification of the Trafficking in Persons Protocol and the 2000 Protocol against the Smuggling of Migrants.
  • 2011: Law n°2011/024 on the fight against trafficking in persons.
  • 2011: Decree No. 2011/389 on the organization and functioning of refugee status management bodies (operational since 2016).
  • 2013: Decree No. 2013/002 of 4 January 2013 laying down the conditions for issuing passports.

The main ministries in charge of migration affairs in Cameroon:

  • General Delegation for National Security: it is in charge of emigration and immigration; border management.
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs: it is the focal point for international cooperation on migration and refugee issues; is in charge of the relations with the Cameroonian diaspora; handles requests for legalisation from foreigners' associations present in Cameroon.
  • Prime Minister's Office: is in charge of the Inter-ministerial Technical Platform for the Management of Labour Migration.


Last updated: September 2018

Cookies user preferences
We use cookies to ensure you to get the best experience on our website. If you decline the use of cookies, this website may not function as expected.
Accept all
Decline all
Read more
Tools used to analyze the data to measure the effectiveness of a website and to understand how it works.
Google Analytics