The Euro-African Dialogue on Migration and Development (Rabat Process), brings together 57 state partners and additional key stakeholders to openly discuss migration questions in a spirit of partnership. The Rabat Process is primarily a dialogue between national authorities and regional organisations. International organisations are observers. Civil society organisations, academics, think tanks, private sector are increasingly involved in the dialogue due to their ability to contribute relevant expertise.

A total of 57 European and African partner and observer countries, as well as the European Union (EU) and the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) make up the core stakeholders. In addition, four international organisations have permanent observer status.


African countries


European countries


partner organisations


permanent observers

Country profiles

Click on the map to consult the profiles of the countries that are members and observers of the Rabat Process:

European partner countries

African partner countries

Observer countries

The United Kingdom has withdrawn from the European Union (EU) on 31 January 2020 and is no longer a Member State of the EU.

More than 60 stakeholders

Click to consult the full list of stakeholders that contribute to the Rabat Process:

Algeria (observer), Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Chad, Congo, Cote d‘Ivoire, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Libya (observer) Mali, Morocco, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Senegal, Sao Tomé and Principe, Sierra Leone, Togo and Tunisia.
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. The United Kingdom has withdrawn from the European Union (EU) on 31 January 2020 and is no longer a Member State of the EU.
The European Union (EU) and the Commission of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).
International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), International Organisation for Migration (IOM), United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC), United Nations Refugee Agency (UNHCR)
Civil society, diaspora and academic representatives also participate frequently in dialogue meetings on ad hoc basis, without official observer status.

Key actors

There are four types of key actors that contribute each in a specific way to the success of the Rabat Process:

Find out more about the role of these actors and learn about the governance structure of the Rabat Process here: Key stakeholders and governance