The Euro-African Dialogue on Migration and Development (Rabat Process), brings together over 60 stakeholders to openly discuss migration and development questions in a spirit of partnership. The Rabat Process is primarily a dialogue between national administrations and international organisations, both at political and technical levels. International and civil society organisations are increasingly involved in the dialogue due to their ability to contribute relevant expertise.

A total of 57 European and African partner and observer countries, as well as the European Commission (EC) and the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) make up the core stakeholders. In addition, a number of international organisations have observer status at the dialogue meetings.

More than 60 stakeholders

28 African countries

Algeria (observer), Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Chad, Congo, Cote d‘Ivoire, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Libya (observer) Mali, Morocco, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Senegal, Sao Tomé and Principe, Sierra Leone, Togo and Tunisia.

29 European countries

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

2 partner organisations

The European Commission and the Commission of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

Additional observers

A number of international organisations, such as IOM or UNHCR, participate in the Rabat Process as observers. Civil society, diaspora and academic representatives also participate frequently in dialogue meetings on ad hoc basis, without official observer status.

A network of Focal Points

Each national administration and organisation involved in the Rabat Process is represented by a Focal Point. These contact points share their knowledge at the dialogue meetings or identify national experts to do so. By liaising with and mobilising colleagues with specific expertise to attend dialogue meetings, focal points help to ensure their country’s high-quality technical input for thematic meetings. Afterwards, they disseminate the dialogue’s results at the national level. Thereby, they act as intermediaries between the dialogue and the national administrations of the partner countries and play a key role in the dialogue. Terms of Reference guide newly appointed Focal Points and help them to get acquainted with their role. The network of Focal Points is the backbone of the Rabat Process and contributes significantly to the continuing success of the dialogue.